This version is for browsers with a low level of support for CSS, and is des

Home Language Selection

Home Main Navigation

End Main Navigation


Home Content Area

Home Navigator

  • Home
    • > Architectural histo...

End Navigator



Highlights of the abbey’s architectural history

The former Benedictine abbey lies in the heart of Stein am Rhein's old town. Its natural boundaries are formed to the north by the Romanesque basilica (formerly the abbey church, now the parish church) and the river Rhine to the south.
The outline of the grounds shows three groups of buildings: the church, the convent block constructed around the cloister that adjoins to the south, and the abbot's living and representation quarters, which jut out southwards onto the river. Between these building complexes are three courtyards flanked by a number of purely functional structures.
Davidsbau (David’s building), lower abbots' parlour, around 1510
Davidsbau (David’s building), lower abbots' parlour, around 1510
Jodokus Krum (1460-1490) and David von Winkelsheim (1499-1525) were the two most important abbots who ruled over the abbey's clerical and secular affairs and whose construction work helped it to flourish.

To this day, relics from the early 11th-century Romanesque period when the abbey was founded, the Gothic period, the Renaissance and the heritage-obsessed 19th century can still be found throughout the complex. It was abbot Konrad Goldast (1383-1412) who began the Gothic conversion, as is evidenced by his coat of arms, marked with the year 1390, that adorns the summer refectory adjoining the cloister to the south.
His successor Abbot Johannes Send I devoted himself to renovating the chapter house at the eastern end of the complex. This building features a crucifixion relief, which shows Send kneeling at the side of the cross with his personal coat of arms. His coat of arms also appears on the northern wall of the refectory, showing the year 1444. This large hall also reveals traces of the next abbot, Johannes Singer II, who gave the refectory its late Gothic character.

It becomes clear at this point just how important the dignitaries' coats of arms are, alongside architectural and stylistic features, for dating the buildings. Each ruling abbot literally put his personal stamp on every conversion or renovation in the form of his coat of arms.
Arms of the abbey and abbot Johannes II, around 1450
Overdoor: arms, supported by putti and crowned by a mitre, of the abbey and abbot David
Woodcarving showing the arms of the abbey and abbot David, after 1500
Western window column: abbot Konrad Goldast's coat of arms carved in sandstone, which gives an indication of when the room was created.

The arrival of Jodokus Krum, abbot from 1460 to 1490, sparked a flurry of construction work in the abbey. He began by having the cloister – which was originally on a level with the church – sunk by two meters until it was at the level of the abbey block close to the Rhine.
Under his aegis, the cloister wings to the east and north were adorned with their late-Gothic tracery, cross-ribbed vault and the tendril artwork on the vault cells.

Krum was also responsible for extending the abbot's quarters in the direction of the Rhine. In the south-eastern corner of the abbey complex is a two-storey half-timbered building constructed from 1480 onwards which, in the lower abbot’s parlour, is marked with the constructor’s name and the year 1481. The eastern wing of the upper floor, which houses the dormitory and monks’ cells, also appears to be the work of Krum. In addition, he had existing rooms such as the chapter house and the winter refectory decorated with heraldic devices.
Krum's half-timbered building was completed during the brief reign of his successor, Johannes III Martin (1490-1499), whose emblem is stencilled onto the ceiling frieze in the upper-floor parlour.

When the next elected abbot David von Winkelsheim, son of the Schaffhausen-born owner of nearby Girsberg castle, took up office on 10 September 1499, this marked the beginning of what was probably, from an architectural and artistic perspective, the most important phase in the abbey's history. David's first step was to supplement the abbot's quarters left to him by Krum, which he found too small, with a handsome southwest-facing gabled building complete with bay windows overlooking the courtyard and the Rhine. This building, with its impressive interior, was finished in 1515/16. Right next his private living quarters, David erected the magnificent banquet hall, which has been preserved in its original form, in order to provide guests with a befitting reception at official events.

This was to become the most precious room in the whole abbey, and its paintings showcase the well-educated abbot's progressive, humanistic worldview.

Grisaille paintings, supplemented by a palette of the primary colours blue, red and golden yellow, were applied directly onto the wall’s dry plaster (a technique known as ‘al secco’). Revealing an extensive humanistic influence, the picture cycle from the years 1515-16 combines key figures from classical and Christian art in an early-Renaissance style to form an artwork that is unique for the Swiss cultural landscape north of the Alps. Due to the initials incorporated into the paintings, researchers believe that they are the work of two renowned artists: the initials 'TS' above the eastern door are thought to belong to the artist Thomas Schmid from Schaffhausen, while the signature 'NAMBRO' on Artemis' neck points to the Augsburg painter Ambrosius Holbein.
Overdoor in the banquet hall: initials of the painter Thomas Schmid, 1516
Overdoor in the banquet hall: initials of the painter Thomas Schmid, 1516

End Content Area

Contacts

St. George's Abbey Museum
Fischmarkt 3
8260 Stein am Rhein
T +41 52 741 21 42
E E-Mail
http://www.klostersanktgeorgen.ch

Ownership timeline

A former Benedictine abbey that is publicly owned by the Swiss Confederation:

5 July 1525: The Reformation leads to the closure of the abbey. David von Winkelsheim, the last abbot, flees to Radolfszell. The abbey falls under the administration of the city of Zurich and is inhabited by its officials.

1806: Zurich hands over control of St. George's Abbey to Schaffhausen.

1834: Stein am Rhein merchant Johannes Peter buys the abbey.

1875: The priest Ferdinand Vetter purchases the abbey.

1891: Vetter's son, Professor Ferdinand Vetter, places the abbey complex under federal government protection.

1926: The Gottfried Keller Stiftung, a Swiss foundation, buys the abbey from Vetter's estate with the help of the canton of Schaffhausen and the town of Stein am Rhein. The abbey is opened to the public as a museum.

1945: Ownership of the abbey complex is transferred to the Swiss Confederation.

In 2012, the former Benedictine abbey was incorporated into the federal government's portfolio of museums.
Vault with the abbey's coat of arms
Vault with the abbey's coat of arms
Tracery window
Tracery window
Cloister
Cloister
Every cent counts!
Every cent counts!


Federal Department of Home Affairs FDHA - Swiss Federal Office of Culture FOC
http://www.bundesmuseen.ch/klostermuseum/01311/index.html?lang=en

La présente édition est conçue pour les navigateurs sans soutien CSS suffisant et s'adresse en priorité aux malvoyants. Tous les contenus peuvent également être visualisés à l'aide de navigateurs plus anciens. Pour une meilleure visualisation graphique, il est toutefois recommandé d'utiliser un navigateur plus moderne comme Mozilla 1,4 ou Internet Explorer 6.

Début sélection langue

Début navigation principale

Fin navigation principale


Début secteur de contenu

Début navigateur

Fin navigateur



Apogée de l’histoire architecturale du couvent

L’ancien couvent bénédictin se trouve au cœur de la vieille ville de Stein am Rhein. Il est délimité au nord par la basilique romane (anciennement l’église du couvent, aujourd’hui église de la ville) et au sud par le Rhin.
Le couvent est composé de trois groupes de bâtiments : l’église, l’aile conventuelle située au sud du cloître et la prélature, logement et espace de représentation de l’abbé, qui surplombe le fleuve. Trois cours les séparent ; elles étaient autrefois flanquées de bâtiments utilitaires.
Maison de David, salons de l’abbé à l’étage inférieur, vers 1510
Maison de David, salons de l’abbé à l’étage inférieur, vers 1510
C’est sous les ministères de Josse Krum (1460-1490) et de David de Winkelsheim (1499-1525) que l’architecture du couvent atteignit son apogée.

On retrouve dans l’ensemble conventuel actuel des éléments romans datant de la première phase de construction au début du 11e siècle, des éléments gothiques, de la Renaissance et du 19e siècle. L’abbé Conrad Goldast (1383-1412) fut le premier à utiliser des éléments dans le style gothique, comme en témoigne la date 1390 apposée sur ses armoiries et qui décore le réfectoire d’été au sud du cloître.
Son successeur, l’abbé Jean Ier Send, réaménagea la salle du chapitre, située à l’est de l’ensemble. Le relief de la crucifixion représente le maître de l’ouvrage, agenouillé au pied de la croix, comme donateur portant ses armoiries personnelles. Les armoiries de Send se retrouvent aussi sur la paroi nord du réféctoire et sont datées de 1444. Cette grande salle porte aussi la trace de l’abbé suivant, Jean II Singer, qui lui donna son caractère gothique tardif.

Il apparaît ici clairement que la datation des bâtiments peut être déduite non seulement des caractéristiques architecturales, mais aussi et surtout des armoiries des dignitaires. Les abbés signèrent de leurs armoiries les constructions ou les aménagements qu’ils réalisèrent.
Armoiries du couvent et de l’abbé Jean II, vers 1450
Dessus de porte : armoiries du couvent et de l’abbé David surmontées d’une mitre et encadrées de deux putti
Sculpture sur bois représentant les armoiries du couvent et de l’abbé David, après 1500
Montant ouest des fenêtres, armoiries de l’abbé Conrad Goldast sculptées dans le grès, indication sur la date de construction de la salle

Sous le ministère de l’abbé Josse Krum (1460-1490), le couvent entre dans une phase de grands travaux. Elle commença avec l’abaissement de deux mètres du cloître ; à l’origine au niveau de l’église, il fut ramené au niveau de l’aile surplombant le Rhin.
Ensuite, l’abbé construisit les menaux gothiques des ailes est et nord du cloître et la voûte ogivale ainsi que les peintures ornées de la chape.

Ce fut lui aussi qui agrandit la prélature en direction du Rhin. Dans les salons de l’abbé, à l’étage inférieur de la maison à colombages à deux étages de l’angle sud-est, dont la construction commença en 1480, on trouve le nom du bâtisseur et la date 1481. L’aile est de l’étage supérieur, où se trouve le dortoir des moines, remonte à la même époque. Josse décora d’éléments héraldiques les espaces existants comme la salle du chapitre et le réfectoire d’hiver.
La maison de Josse fut achevée sous le bref ministère de son successeur, Jean III Martin (1490-1499), dont l’emblème réalisé en peinture au pochoir orne la frise du salon de l’étage supérieur.

David de Winkelsheim, fils du propriétaire schaffhousois du château voisin de Girsberg, prit ses fonctions d’abbé le 10 septembre 1499. Avec lui, le couvent entre dans l’époque la plus importante du point de vue de l’histoire de l’art. David commença par agrandir la prélature de Josse, qu’il trouvait trop petite, en lui adjoignant au sud-ouest une imposante maison à pignons avec deux tourelles donnant sur la cour et sur le Rhin. Le bâtiment fut achevé en 1515/16 par le luxueux aménagement des espaces intérieurs. La fastueuse salles des fêtes, dont le plancher est d’origine, se trouve à proximité immédiate des salons privés de David. David y recevait ses hôtes lors des manifestations officielles.

Il s’agit là de la salle la plus précieuse du couvent, où l’abbé érudit mit en scène son savoir-vivre humaniste à travers les tableaux ornant les parois.

La peinture à la grisaille « al secco », élargie d’une palette de bleus, de rouges et de dorés, fut appliquée directement sur la surface sèche du mur de la salle. Les tableaux, qui témoignent d’une vaste formation humaniste, furent réalisés en 1515-1516 ; le cycle réunit des figures antiques et profanes dans le style de la Première Renaissance. Ce sont les seuls de ce type à avoir été conservées au nord des Alpes. Grâce aux monogrammes figurant dans les tableaux, les chercheurs supposent qu’il s’agit là de l’œuvre de deux artistes renommés : le monogramme TS au-dessus de la porte est désigne le peintre schaffhousois Thomas Schmid ; la signature NAMBRO sur le collier d’Artémise renvoie probablement à Ambroise Holbein d’Augsburg.
Dessus de la porte de la salle des fêtes : monogramme du peintre Thomas Schmid, 1516
Dessus de la porte de la salle des fêtes : monogramme du peintre Thomas Schmid, 1516

Fin secteur de contenu

Contacts

Musée Cloître Saint-Georges
Fischmarkt 3
8260 Stein am Rhein
T +41 52 741 21 42
E Courriel
http://www.klostersanktgeorgen.ch

Chronologie

Un ancien couvent bénédictin propriété de la Confédération :

5 juillet 1525 : Suppression du couvent à la suite de la Réforme. Le dernier abbé, David de Winkelsheim, fuit à Radolfzell. La ville de Zurich en assure la gestion et ses baillis y logent.

1806 Zurich cède Saint-Georges à Schaffhouse.

1834 Johannes Peter, un marchand de Stein am Rhein, achète le couvent.

1875 Le pasteur Ferdinand Vetter achète le couvent.

1891 Le fils du pasteur, le professeur Ferdinand Vetter, place le couvent sous la protection de la Confédération.

1926 La fondation Gottfried Keller acquiert le couvent auprès de la succession de Vetter avec l’aide du canton de Schaffhouse et de la ville de Stein am Rhein. Le couvent est transformé en musée et ouvert au public.

1945 Le droit de propriété du couvent est transféré à la Confédération.

L’ancien couvent bénédictin est venu enrichir la série de musées de la Confédération en 2012.
Armoiries de l’abbé sur la voûte
Armoiries de l’abbé sur la voûte
Fenêtre à meneaux
Fenêtre à meneaux
Cloître
Cloître
Chaque sou compte !
Chaque sou compte !


Département fédéral de l'intérieur DFI - Office fédéral de la culture OFC
http://www.bundesmuseen.ch/klostermuseum/01311/index.html?lang=fr