Museum for Music Automatons

This version is for browsers with a low level of support for CSS, and is des

Home Language Selection

Home Content Area

Home Navigator

End Navigator



Dürrenmatt in Neuchâtel

Although Dürrenmatt spent 38 years of his life in Neuchâtel, to some extent a language gap separated the German-speaking author from this French-speaking town. In the long run, however, the town paid tribute on several occasions to the world-renowned author they ended up adopting as one of their own.

In 1952, Dürrenmatt bought the house at Vallon de l’Ermitage, overlooking Neuchâtel, along the road leading up the mountain of Chaumont. He appreciated its price, its accessibility, its nearness to the linguistic border and, above all, its magnificent setting. When asked why he had moved to Neuchâtel in particular, his invariable reply was “because there’s a railroad station there”. Dürrenmatt put in a garden; he went on to build a second house, had a swimming pool built and added a separate wing to serve as a workroom. To avoid having constructions by outsiders encroach upon the property, he gradually acquired the land below the house, enabling the upper part of the sloping valley, extending up to the Rocher de l’Ermitage, to remain a protected area.

Only over time did the people of Neuchâtel discover Dürrenmatt, with astonishment and then with ever growing admiration; he himself participated little in the life of the town. In a beautiful text entitled Vallon de l’Ermitage, Dürrenmatt narrates his life as a German-Swiss citizen in French-speaking Neuchâtel. Several events bear witness to the gratitude of the people of Neuchâtel towards “their” world-renowned, foreign-language author. In 1981, for his 60th birthday, the University of Neuchâtel conferred the title of Doctor Honoris Causa on him. In 1985, the town’s Museum of Art and History put on an exhibition of his works and, in 1987, a Scientific Symposium was devoted to him. The year 2000 saw him featured in a special issue of La Nouvelle Revue Neuchâteloise, in conjunction with an exhibition of his works at the Public and University Library of Neuchâtel. Last but not least, the City and Canton of Neuchâtel’s participation in the creation of the Centre Dürrenmatt honours both the author and the artist.

End Content Area

Photo: Monique Jacot, 1963
Photo: Monique Jacot, 1963
FD in his library in Neuchâtel. Photo: Philipp Keel
FD in his library in Neuchâtel. Photo: Philipp Keel


Federal Department of Home Affairs FDHA - Swiss National Library NL
http://www.bundesmuseen.ch/cdn/00126/00164/index.html?lang=en

Museum für Musikautomaten

-»Diese Ausgabe ist für Browser ohne zureichende CSS-Unterstützung gedacht und richtet sich vor allem an Sehbehinderte. Alle Inhalte sind auch mit älteren Browsern voll nutzbar. Für eine grafisch ansprechendere Ansicht verwenden Sie aber bitte einen moder

Beginn Sprachwahl

Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Ende Navigator



Dürrenmatt in Neuenburg

Obwohl Friedrich Dürrenmatt 38 Jahre seines Lebens in Neuenburg verbrachte, blieb das Verhältnis zwischen dem deutschsprachigen Schriftsteller und der französischsprachigen Stadt distanziert. Doch hat die Stadt ihren Weltautor wiederholt geehrt.

1952 kaufte Dürrenmatt das Haus im Vallon de l'Ermitage oberhalb von Neuenburg, am Weg auf den Chaumont, angelockt von einem günstigen Preis, einer zurückgezogenen und doch verkehrsgünstigen Lage nahe der Sprachgrenze, und vor allem von der wunderschönen Lage. Auf die Frage, weshalb er gerade nach Neuenburg gezogen sei, pflegte er etwa zu sagen: „Weil es einen Bahnhof hat.“ Dürrenmatt gestaltete den Garten und liess später, mit dem Heranwachsen der drei Kinder, ein weiteres Haus, ein Atelier und einen Swimmingpool hinzubauen. Um eine Überbauung des Tälchens unterhalb des Hauses zu verhindern, kaufte er zusammen mit seinem Nachbarn allmählich Land zusammen, so dass der obere Teil des Tals bis zum Rocher de l'Ermitage noch heute bis auf Dürrenmatts Häuser unüberbaut ist.

Dürrenmatt blieb für die Neuenburger lange ein Fremdling, den sie mit Erstaunen und teilweise mit Bewunderung zur Kenntnis nahmen, und er nahm seinerseits nur wenig Anteil am Stadtleben. Seine Erfahrungen als Deutschschweizer in Neuchâtel hat er im Text „Vallon de l'Ermitage” beschrieben. Die Hommage, die ihm 1981 zu seinem sechzigsten Geburtstag mit der Übergabe des Ehrendoktorats der Universität Neuenburg erwiesen wurde, eine Ausstellung seiner Bilder im Musée d'art et d'histoire von 1985, aber auch ein wissenschaftliches Symposium von 1987, die von einer Ausstellung in der Bibliothèque Publique et Universitaire begleitete Sondernummer der Nouvelle Revue Neuchâteloise im Jahr 2000 und schliesslich die Beteiligung von Stadt und Kanton am Centre Dürrenmatt zeigen eindrücklich, dass Neuenburg ‚seinen' fremdsprachigen Weltautor würdigt.

Ende Inhaltsbereich

search_text_legend


Foto: Monique Jacot, 1963.
Foto: Monique Jacot, 1963.
Friedrich Dürrenmatt in seiner Bibliothek in Neuenburg. Foto: Philipp Keel
Friedrich Dürrenmatt in seiner Bibliothek in Neuenburg. Foto: Philipp Keel


Eidgenössisches Departement des Innern EDI - Schweizerische Nationalbibliothek NB
http://www.bundesmuseen.ch/cdn/00126/00164/index.html?lang=de